If you’re reading this article, you’ve probably decided that you’ll do your shopping elsewhere and you’re searching hard on how to delete your account on Amazon. 

You’re not alone. Like many other Amazon users, closing an account on the leading online retailer isn’t as easy as creating one. There isn’t any button that allows you to close your account, nor are there detailed instructions on the site.

Thankfully, we’ve figured out how you can terminate your Amazon account if you don’t need it anymore. We’re going to share the exact steps in doing so and how much Amazon actually knows about you when you’re buying from it. 

What Does Amazon Know About You?

From the moment you’ve created an account on Amazon, you’re supplying personal information to the retail giant. Your name, address, contact number, and email are some of the basic info that is stored in Amazon’s database.

But that’s not the only info that is exposed to Amazon. Reading through its Privacy Notice will reveal that Amazon also tracks your interaction with content on Amazon or other related third-party websites.  If you’re using Alexa, your voice may also be recorded and stored in Amazon’s data center. 

Amazon collects this information for various reasons, including billing, customer support, personalization, and targetted advertising. These are usually what most online retailers do with customer information. Amazon also uses personal info to improve its services and shopping experience.

If you’re wondering what Google knows about you, read How to Completely Clear All Your Search History.

Before You Delete Your Amazon Account, Consider This

For years, Amazon has grown beyond a conventional e-commerce platform. Your account is linked with more services than you’ve imagined. When you delete your account, you’ll be saying goodbye to the balances in your gift cards or unused vouchers.

Closing down your Amazon account also means giving up on the apps, Kindle e-books, music, and videos that you’ve downloaded. Not a single byte of them will be available after closing your account. 

If you’re planning on returning an item or seeking a refund, you’ll want to do that before closing your Amazon account. Because deleting that account means wiping off all your purchase history. Also, you won’t have access to Kindle and Amazon accounts in other countries. 

You’ll also lose the reviews, photos, and any social content that you’ve published on Amazon. Basically, your entire digital footprint on Amazon will be wiped off. 

How to Delete an Amazon Account

If you’re prepared to bid farewell with Amazon, here’s how to do it.

  1. Go to Amazon.com and click Help
  1. Scroll down and choose Need More Help.
  1. Select Contact Us.
  1. You’ll be directed to the chat support page.
  1. Click on Start Chatting Now. A chat box will pop up and you’ll be connected to Amazon’s bot. 
delete your Amazon account
  1. Type “closing account” on the chat. The bot will reply with a link to a specific help page. 
  1. Click on the link to the Help page. Scroll down and click on the Contact Us link. 
how to delete your Amazon account
  1. A new “Request Your Data” page will be loaded. In the first option, choose Close My Account and Delete My Data.
  1. Then, click on the options available in contacting Amazon. At this moment, only email is available. 
  1. You’ll be directed to a page with a pre-loaded email message. Click Send E-mail.
deleting your Amazon account
  1. You’ll receive an email from Amazon, reminding that you’ll lose access to services linked to Amazon if you proceed with deleting the account.
  1. Confirm your intention of deleting the account, and Amazon will close it down.
  1. Alternatively, you can also call Amazon at 1-800-250-0668 and speak with customer support personnel on closing your account. 

Summary

Amazon is probably sad to see you go, but if you’ve made your choice, closing the account prevents your personal information from idling on its database. Besides, if you feel like being an Amazon shopper again, you can always create a new account.